Event Information


Sydney Festival and ATP Presents

All Tomorrow’s Parties
Curated by Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds

Cockatoo Island

January 17 & 18, 2009

Named after The Velvet Underground song, and conceived as a counterpoint to large commercial rock festivals, All Tomorrow's Parties is a music event unlike any other.

Individual artists or bands are invited to draw together some of their favourite performers to play in unique and relatively intimate settings. 2009 sees the first ATP in Australia, curated and headlined by Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds. The full festival line-up will be performed twice in the centre of Sydney Harbour on the beautiful Cockatoo Island.

With its characteristic industrial and maritime landscape and set in the picturesque Sydney Harbour, Cockatoo Island is the perfect setting for the Sydney Festival debut of this unique event.  Performances will take place across four outdoor stages with a number of indoor and outdoor bars (including cocktail and wine bars), food outlets (including tapas and global cuisine) and plenty of seating and chill out areas.

As well as performances by Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, the festival includes seminal international artists such as British transcendentalists Spiritualized and US avant-bluesman James "Blood" Ulmer, alongside celebrated Australian bands The Saints (featuring original members Ed Kuepper, Chris Bailey, Ivor Hay and Archie Larizza), Laughing Clowns and The Necks. Others joining this extraordinary family include Fuck Buttons (UK), Michael Gira (US), Bridezilla (AUS), former Go-Between Robert Forster, Silver Apples (US) and Harmonia (GER). 

Also featured on the bill are Australian 1980s rock darlings The Reels, US psych-rockers Dead Meadow and the avant-rock freak out Japanese twopiece Afrirampo, alongside former Birthday Party guitarist Rowland S Howard, Melbourne bands, The Stabs and Beaches, Sydney outfits Hunter Dienna and Passenger of Shit, Bad Seed Conway Savage and Greek legend Psarandonis, as well as ATP DJs and the exotic Sounds of Seduction to round off the festivities.

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds are Nick Cave, Mick Harvey, Warren Ellis, Martyn P. Casey, Conway Savage, Thomas Wydler and Jim Sclavunos. Over a career spanning 14 albums the band has become one of the most revered and influential forces in rock music. Their 2008 album Dig Lazarus Dig!!! is widely regarded as one of their finest releases and recently won Mojo Magazine's ‘Best Album Award'.

Ticket price includes return boat trip to Cockatoo Island.
Over 18s only.

To purchase TICKETS, click here.

To download the ATP PROGRAM featuring line-up and playing times, click here.

For the All Tomorrow's Parties MAP, click here.

For the All Tomorrow's Parties BOAT TIMETABLE, click here.