Brokeback was started sometime in ‘95/’96 as an outlet for Douglas McCombs (Tortoise, various others) to perform solo and try out new song ideas. Encouraged by the outcome of some of these early performances (a new sense of musical time and space made possible by the solo setting), McCombs decided to treat Brokeback as its own entity in regards to recording, touring, etc.
In ‘98 McCombs invited upright bassist Noel Kupersmith (Chicago Underground Trio/Quartet, most recently of the Extra Golden project) to play a handful of gigs and the two have remained collaborators since. Both are equally involved in all aspects of the group from writing/ arranging the songs to production values and choosing musicians to flesh out the arrangements. They often perform as a duo but just as often ask friends to join them as a trio or quartet. Some of their past collaborators include: Mary Hansen and Laetitia Sadier of Stereolab; Joey Burns and John Convertino of Calexico; Rob Mazurek and Chad Taylor of the Chicago Underground; John Herndon, John McEntire, and Jeff Parker of Tortoise; James McNew of Yo La Tengo; celebrated guitarists Tim Foljahn and Alan Licht; and solo performer Aki Tsuyuko.

For this performance, they will be joined by drummer Tim Mulvenna (the Eternals, various Ken Vandermark groups). This coupled with Kupersmith’s recent rediscovery of the electric bass should lead to a “power” trio of sorts, though that remains to be seen.

Brokeback also played at...