Picture: Frank Ockenfels

‘One of the best live bands in existence.’ Q

‘The world’s most exciting live rock band.’ Sunday Telegraph

Wilco will tour Europe in May in support of their forthcoming album Sky Blue Sky, which will be released on May 14 on Nonesuch Records. The tour begins in the UK on May 19 with All Tomorrow’s Parties in Somerset, and Shepherds Bush Empire in London on May 20. It also includes dates in Germany, France, Belgium, Holland and Spain.

Sky Blue Sky is the first studio album since Wilco’s 2004 Grammy Award-winning CD A ghost is born and the first newly written and recorded material to feature the now firmly established band line-up of Jeff Tweedy (guitars, vocals), John Stirratt (bass, vocals), Glenn Kotche (drums), Mike Jorgensen (keyboards), Nels Cline (guitars) and Pat Sansone (guitars, keyboards, vocals). Guitarist Nels Cline and multi-instrumentalist Pat Sansone joined the band after the completion of A ghost is born. The new album was recorded at The Loft, the band’s Chicago studio. Many of the new songs have been performed in recent Wilco concerts in the US and by Jeff Tweedy on his current solo tour. Sky Blue Sky is produced by Wilco.

Wilco also played at...