Godspeed You! Black Emperor Announce New 'Album Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress'

Tuesday 24th February, 2015

Godspeed You! Black Emperor returns with its first single LP-length release since the group's earliest days in 1997-99. 'Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress' clocks in at a succinct 40:23 and is arguably the most focused and best-sounding recording of the band's career. Working with sound engineer Greg Norman(Electrical Audio)at studios in North Carolina and Montreal, GYBE slowly and steadily put the new album together through late 2013 and 2014, emerging with a mighty slab of superlative sonics, shot through with all the band's inimitable signposts and touchstones: huge unison riffage, savage noise/drone, oscillating overtones, guitar vs. string counterpoint, inexorable crescendos and scorched-earth transitions.

1. Peasantry or ‘Light! Inside of Light!'
2. Lambs' Breath
3. Asunder, Sweet
4. Piss Crowns Are Trebled

'Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress' is out March 31st on Constellation Records

Godspeed You! Black Emperor play ATP Iceland 2nd - 4th July 2015. 3 day passes start from £91/ €115 incl b/f. Tickets available HERE.

Listen to an excerpt from the album below