Mercury Rev prepare 2cd reissue of Deserters Songs - play the album in London

Thursday 3rd March, 2011

MERCURY REV return in May with a deluxe double CD reissue of their classic 1998 album, “DESERTER’S SONGS”. The release comes complete with a 13-track bonus disc of demos, b-sides, rarities and out-takes… To coincide with and celebrate the release ATP will present Mercury Rev performing the album live at the London Roundhouse on Saturday 21st May. Click here for details and to buy tickets.


“Deserter’s Songs” was released to huge worldwide acclaim and went on to be named album of the year by NME, MOJO and many other publications. The record merged jazz, folk, Disney soundtrack fantasia, 60s rock (The Band’s legendary Levon Helm and Garth Hudson guested on the album) with sweeping orchestration and heralded Mercury Rev’s rebirth as purveyors of a cosmic brand of the popular American songbook. “Deserter’s Songs” was also a bona-fide hit, generating three Top 40 singles in the form of “Goddess on a Highway”, “Holes” and “Opus 40”. Bonus disc track-listing below…


1) Piano vs. Telephone (Cassette Tape Player Demo)

2) Holes (Bill Laswell 1998 Remix)

3) Pick Up If You're There (DJ Nickel 1998 Remix)

4) Endlessly (Tascam 8-Track Reel to Reel Demo)

5) A Soft Kiss (for waking up) (Cassette Tape Player Demo)

6) Tonite It Shows (Tascam 8-Track Reel to Reel Demo)

7) Looking Back Now, I Can See (Unreleased Mix)

8) Opus 40 (Early Rough Version)

9) Hudson Line (Early Rough Version)

10) Judging By The Moon (Cassette Tape Player Demo)

11) Goddess On A Hiway (1989 Cassette Tape Player Demo)

12) Night On Panther Mountain (Unreleased Mix)

13) Delta Sun Bottleneck Stomp (Early Rough Version)


Deserter’s Songs” will be released 16th May on V2 / Cooperative Music.