New Deerhoof 7" single announced, album Pre-Order packages available!

Wednesday 12th January, 2011

Super Duper Rescue Heads !:


The fantastic new album from Deerhoof named Deerhoof vs. Evil will be released in the UK on January 31, 2011 by ATP Recordings. Here's a sample of the uniformly fantastic press reactions so far for the new album...

4/5, "The perfect prog-pop hit...This is 'difficult' music at it's most endearingly playful, and an absolute joy." - Mojo

4/5, "[A] joyous racket." - Q

5/5, Album Of The Month, "Needless to say, the swines are still better than your band." - Artrocker

4/5, "Unleash[es] coiled energy in high-pressure bursts." - Uncut

4/5, "Musical schizophrenia at it's sweetest." - The Fly

9/10, "Weird and regularly wonderful, in the same way Animal Collective set an intolerably early LP marker back in January 2009, Deerhoof have set a standard few can match." - Loud And Quiet

4/5, "Could be their most polished work: there are seismic riffs, Greek soundtrack covers, countless counter-rhythms and sharp-edged melodies." - Record Collector

Super Duper Rescue Heads ! is the first single to be released from new album and is out on 7” vinyl picture disc (pictured below, limited to 1000 copies) and digital download on 17th January 2011. The single includes brand new b-side ‘Hitchcock’ and a live version of ‘Rainbow Silhouette of the Milky Rain’ from the album ‘Milk Man’ and it's available to pre-order now from the ATP Store.

“Good and bad title, made up by Greg Saunier. I love this song! Rave pop rock! Reminds me of 80s neo romantic music ... 'Me to the rescue!' I am gonna come to rescue you! 'You to the rescue!' Please rescue your friends who are lonely.” - Satomi on ‘Super Duper Rescue Heads !’

Album Pre-orders:

In the UK Deerhoof Vs Evil will be available on CD, limited edition pink vinyl (1000 copies only, comes with MP3 download) and digital download. Pre-order packages in the UK for Deerhoof vs. Evil are now available from the ATP Store! The following options are available, and buying the combo packages means you pay less for the individual items...

  • CD (with MP3 download)


  • Pink LP (with MP3 download)


  • CD (with MP3 download) + Super Duper Rescue Heads 7" 


  • Pink LP (with MP3 download) + Super Duper Rescue Heads 7"


  • CD (with MP3 download) + Super Duper Rescue Heads 7" + Custom Made 2x7"


  • Pink LP (with MP3 download) + Super Duper Rescue Heads 7" + Custom Made 2x7"

The Custom Made 2x7" is a limited edition release featuring four exclusive tracks - full info here. Please note any non Deerhoof items ordered at the same time will be shipped when your Pre-Order is shipped.

You can download the track "The Merry Barracks" from the album for free here -

More info:

1. Qui Dorm, Només Somia

2. Behold a Marvel in the Darkness

3. The Merry Barracks

4. No One Asked to Dance

5. Let’s Dance the Jet

6. Super Duper Rescue Heads !

7. Must Fight Current

8. Secret Mobilization

9. Hey I Can

10. C’Moon

11. I Did Crimes for You

12. Almost Everyone, Almost Always

Remember what it was like to turn 16? No one could tell you what to do. You were a force to be reckoned with - filled with the undeniable feeling that you could take on anything and win.

Having formed in 1994, Deerhoof is now that fateful age and by rites it's the band's turn to go out and challenge the world. The same way a rebellious adolescent turns tough and irrational, Greg Saunier, Ed Rodriguez, John Dieterich, and Satomi Matsuzaki just up and split from San Francisco, the only home they've ever known as a band, and left behind all notions of what a "Deerhoof record sounds like."

The result is Deerhoof vs. Evil. The musical equivalent of hormones raging out of control, it explodes out of the speakers with its gawky triumph and inflamed sentimentality. These are songs that practically demand that you dance and sing along (however elastic the rhythms, or abrupt the melodies). Right from "Qui Dorm, Nomes Somia" (sung in Catalan), it's evident that Deerhoof aren't afraid to take chances (critics be damned).

To document their musical "coming-of-age" the band members could only trust themselves. Besides their cover of an obscure Greek film soundtrack instrumental ("Let's Dance the Jet"), and a song done for NY artist Adam Pendleton's documentary film installation BAND ("I Did Crimes for You"), these songs were completely self-recorded, mixed and mastered in practice spaces and basements with no engineers or outside input.

Ironically the result is polished, blissfully exuberant, and huge-sounding. Going DIY meant freedom to reinvent themselves, playing each others' instruments, altering those instruments so drastically as to be unrecognisable, (those aren't Joanna Newsom or Konono No. 1 samples, those are John and Ed's guitars), and generally splashing their sonic colours into the most unexpected combinations.