Deerhoof release first full track from Breakup Song

Wednesday 1st August, 2012

"The Best Band In The World." - Pitchfork

Last week ATP Recordings were delighted to announce the full release of the 11th studio album from Deerhoof - named Breakup Song - it's out on CD (ATPRCD47), Neon Pink LP with Download (ATPRLP47) and Digital Download this September.

The band have now released the full track 'The Trouble With Candyhands' as a stream - check it out now on the ATP Soundcloud!

A November European Tour is to be announced shortly.

"Deerhoof drummer Greg here to introduce you to our latest record:

We've been called a lot of things, as you know. But pop has always marked the spot on the Deerhoof treasure map.

Pop = catchy
Pop = new
Pop = no rules

If you want to come dance or sing karaoke with Deerhoof, you don't have to ask twice.

We've just finished this sensational slice of Cuban-flavored party-noise-energy music. We called it Breakup Song. Just don't expect a bunch of Grammy¨-baiting sob stories, OK? In Deerhoof's thesaurus, freedom's just another word for feeling good again and raising hell and getting away with it. Stick with us and the bad guys with guns will never catch up..."

The CD and Vinyl are available to pre-order now from the ATP Recordings Store.


Satomi Matsuzaki plays bass and sings, Greg Saunier plays drums, John Dieterich and Ed Rodriguez play guitars. But what is Deerhoof really? Hell if we know. Pitchfork went so far as to label Deerhoof as "the best band in the world." The New York Times described them as "one of the most original rock bands to have come along in the last decade." From their humble beginnings as an obscure San Francisco noise act, they've become one of indie music's most influential bands with their ecstatic and unruly take on pop.

Deerhoof has released 11 self-produced albums and continues to tour the world frequently. The members of Deerhoof are Satomi Matsuzaki, John Dieterich, Ed Rodriguez and Greg Saunier.

Release Tracks:

  • 1. Breakup Songs
  • 2. There's That Grin
  • 3. Bad Kids To The Front
  • 4. Zero Seconds Pause
  • 5. Mothball The Fleet
  • 6. Flower
  • 7. To Fly Or Not To Fly
  • 8. The Trouble With Candyhands
  • 9. We Do Parties
  • 10. Mario's Flaming Whiskers III
  • 11. Fete D'Adieu