My Better Self / Petition

Tennis announce double A-side single
"My Better Self" / "Petition"
Out May 28th, 2012 on 7" / Digital Download
+ announce UK/European Tour Dates


"Alaina Moore is now the personification of 60s girl group melodrama on Petition." - The Fly

"My Better Self succeeds to out itself as a masterpiece of synth-pop." - Clash

"I can't stop listening to Petition...Moore's vocal chops are easily Tennis's greatest asset" - Everybody Taste

"My Better Self... a perfectly sweet, nicely-produced piece of swoony pop." - Stereogum

Recently Nylon and Clash exclusively launched the new video for "My Better Self" from Tennis, produced by Lilliput Pictures ( View & Embed Here At Vimeo

My Better Self is one side of the second single (double A-side with "Petition") from Tennis' fantastically received second album 'Young & Old'. The release will be on 7" vinyl picture disc limited to 500 copies (cat no. ATPRSP17), as well as digital download (cat no. ATPRSP17D). To coincide with the single out today, Tennis will be playing some new UK and European tour dates this May and June, see below for listing.

Both the 7" and digital release will be backed with a new version of My Better Self exclusively recorded for the single, and the band's recently recorded cover of Tell Her No (originally by The Zombies). The Digital single will be available from iTunes and also contains the other recently recorded cover of Tears in the Typing Pool (originally by Broadcast). Click Here To Buy From iTunes.


The band are playing a run of dates in Europe this May and June...

  • 28/05 Blind Tiger Club - Brighton, UK
  • 30/05 Paradiso - Amsterdam, Holland
  • 31/05 Democrazy - Gent, Belgium
  • 02/06 Trinitaires - Metz, France
  • 04/06 Le Sonic - Lyon, France
  • 05/06 Trabendo - Paris, France
  • 07/06 Ecosite de Bourgailh - Pessac. Nr Bordeaux, France
  • 09/06 Primavera Optimus festival - Porto, Portugal


Their widely praised debut Cape Dory, which The Wall Street Journal called "a winsome set of breezy pop songs," was released in early 2011 to critical acclaim. For their recently released album guitarist Patrick Riley, vocalist Alaina Moore and drummer James Barone headed to Nashville to work with The Black Keys' Patrick Carney.

Tennis was born of Riley and Moore's nearly 7-month sailing trip, which consisted of selling all their possessions, purchasing an old sailboat, repairing it, and cruising up and down the eastern seaboard. Upon returning home, the duo began writing music together as a way to document the history of their shared experience. The result was Cape Dory, an intimate and concise recollection of life on a 30-foot sloop.

After the success of their first album and touring for the better part of a year that included shows as far away as Moscow, Riley and Moore returned home and realized what was initially a bedroom-recording project had quickly evolved into a band. The challenge of a second record was upon them, but songwriting came quickly and in three months the duo had most of the material for their new album. The goal this time was to mature and vary their sound. Riley describes the new direction as "Stevie Nicks going through a Motown phase." By the time they hooked up with Carney, they had fleshed out most of the songs that would comprise Young and Old. With their friend and mentor at the producer helm, the recording progressed naturally and within 3 weeks the album was done. While their debut was written with a third touring member in mind, the new album is written and recorded with the addition of a fourth.


Listen to/Embed My Better Self and Petition Streams On Your Site:

Release Tracks (7"):

Side One:

  1. My Better Self
  2. Petition

Side Two:

  1. My Better Self (exclusive alternate version)
  2. Tell Her No

Praise for Young & Old:

8/10, "Warning: Listening to this album may cause a serious outbreak of happiness." - Clash

"A great record." - Shortlist

4 Stars, "Tennis have smashed another winner." - The Fly

4 Stars, "The kind of dreamy folk pop that's as quintessentially summery as their album full of glittery pop gems." - Artrocker

Links: - -